FAIRFAX, Va. – Seven Hawks across three varsity teams were selected as 2018 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars, it was announced in the April 5th edition of Diverse: Issues In Higher Education, Volume 35, No. 5. Saint Joseph's men's track and field sophomore short sprinter David Bryant and baseball sophomore outfielder Tim Johnson earned First Team honors, while men's track and field senior long sprinter Barren McCoy earned Third Team recognition. From the women's track and field squad, senior long/triple jumper Aarynn Crawley and senior hurdler/long sprinter Rose O'Brien were tabbed to the Fourth Team while junior short sprinter Nathaniela Bourdeau and sophomore hurdler/long sprinter Tamar Bourdeau were recognized as Honorable Mentions.

McCoy and Crawley have now earned three consecutive honors from the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars organization after earning 2017 Honorable Mention and 2016 Third Team accolades while N. Bourdeau records her second accolade after making the 2017 Fifth Team. The honors mark the first for Bryant, Johnson, O'Brien, and T. Bourdeau.

Each sports scholar must be a non-freshman who competes in an intercollegiate sport, maintains a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.20, and is active in her campus or in the community.

Diverse: Issues In Higher Education established the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars Awards "to honor undergraduate students of color who best exemplify academic and athletic achievement. Inspired by tennis legend Arthur Ashe, Jr.'s commitment to education as well as his love for the game of tennis, U.S. colleges and universities are invited to participate in this annual awards program by nominating their outstanding sports scholars. In addition to their athletic ability and academic performance, Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars demonstrate a commitment to community service and student leadership."