Saint Joseph’s forward Charlie Brown, Jr., has been named to the 2019 All-Big 5 First Team and guard Lamarr Kimble has earned All-Big 5 Second Team honors. The winners will be recognized at the annual Philadelphia Big 5 Basketball Awards Banquet, which is scheduled for Monday, April 15 at The Palestra (6 p.m.)

Brown, a redshirt sophomore, led Saint Joseph’s in scoring and captured the Atlantic 10 Conference scoring title as he averaged 19.0 points per game. He became only the second SJU player to earn the league’s scoring crown, as current Atlanta Hawk DeAndre’ Bembry achieved it in 2014-15.

Brown was also named to the Atlantic 10 All-Conference Second Team this season as he posted double figures in all but two contests for the Hawks and scored more than 20 points in 14 games. The 6-6 forward also notched four double-doubles on the season.

Kimble, a 6-0 redshirt junior, was the team’s second leading scorer with a 15.6 average, despite missing 10 games with a hand injury. The guard reached double figures 20 times on the season and tallied 20 or more points in four games. He also ranked second on the squad with 2.8 assists per game.

Temple head coach Fran Dunphy was named the Philadelphia Big 5 Coach of the Year, while Villanova’s Phil Booth has been named Big 5 Player of the Year. Teammate Saddiq Bey earned Big 5 Rookie of the Year honors, while a pair of Temple student-athletes rounded out the major award winners: sophomore guard Nate Pierre-Louis was honored as the Most Improved Player and sophomore forward De’Vondre Perry picked up Scholar Athlete of the Year accolades.

Booth was joined on the All-Big 5 First Team by teammate Eric Paschall, Temple senior guard Shizz Alston, Jr., Penn junior forward A.J. Brodeur, and Saint Joseph’s Brown.  Alston, Jr. was also acknowledged as the Big 5’s leading scorer and free-throw shooter. He averaged 19.7 points per game and shot 90.8 percent from the charity stripe.

The All-Big 5 Second Team consisted of Pierre-Louis, Temple junior Quinton Rose, La Salle graduate student Pookie Powell, Villanova sophomore Collin Gillespie, Lamarr Kimble and Penn junior Devon Goodman. Penn, by virtue of a perfect 4-0 record, won the Big 5 title and snapped Villanova’s 25-game Big 5 winning streak.

Along with the current season men’s and women’s award winners, the banquet will also honor the 2018 inductions to the Big 5 Hall of Fame: Dunphy, Jim Foster (Saint Joseph's WBB coach), Bill Bradshaw (La Salle/Temple AD), Kamesha Hairston (Temple WBB), Mike Nardi (Villanova MBB), Steve Smith (La Salle MBB) and Mark Zoller (Penn MBB).

Tickets for the event are $15 in advance (Purchase Here) and $20 at the door.