No. 4 SAINT JOSEPH'S HAWKS (15-15; 10-8 A-10) vs.
No. 5 GEORGE MASON (16-16; 9-9)

2018 Atlantic 10 Championship - Quarterfinals
March 9, 2018 • 2:30 p.m. • NBC Sports Network
Capital One Arena • Washington, D.C.

TV: NBC Sports Network (Paul Burmeister, Jordan Cornette) | Online:
Radio: 1210 WPHT (Matt Martucci, Joe Lunardi) | Online:



* For info about the bus trip and pre-game reception, go to SJU TOURNAMENT CENTRAL

• Saint Joseph's ended the regular season with a 78-70 win over local rival La Salle at Hagan Arena, for the program's 400th win on its homecourt. Seniors James Demery (18 points) and Shavar Newkirk (16) led the way on “Senior Day”
• Saint Joseph's has won three in a row and six of its last seven games. Included in this stretch are games against all three possible opponents, in which they've gone 2-1, with the loss coming to George Mason at the buzzer
• Nine of SJU's 15 losses have come by four points or less, a number which appears to be the most in the nation
• Saint Joseph's is third in the nation in fewest turnovers (298)
• SJU has earned its highest seed (4) since it won the 2016 A-10 Championship. The Hawks also captured the 2014 A-10 title when it was the fourth seed
• Seniors Shavar Newkirk (2nd Team) and James Demery (3rd Team) earned Atlantic 10 All-Conference recognition for the first time
• A win in the quarterfinals would give SJU its longest winning streak of the season (4)

• Having won six of its last seven, and three straight, SJU is playing some of its better basketball at the right time. It has five players averaging double figures during this stretch:
• Shavar Newkirk - 18.4 ppg
• James Demery - 16.8 ppg
• Nick Robinson - 11.6 ppg
• Taylor Funk - 10.9 ppg
• Chris Clover - 10.4 ppg
• The Hawks are also shooting 46.6 percent from the field and 74.4 percent from the line in these seven games, while owning a scoring margin of +10.3
• Phil Martelli owns an all-time record of 65-45 during the final month of the season with SJU winning the A-10 titles in 2014 and 2016

• The last time Saint Joseph's was the fourth seed came in 2016, when the Hawks defeated George Washington, Dayton and VCU en route to its second A-10 title in three years
• That team, which went 28-8 overall, boasted the A-10 Player of the Year DeAndre' Bembry and the Most Improved Player Isaiah Miles
• Saint Joseph's is 40-31 all-time in the A-10 Championship, with tournament titles in 1986, 1997, 2014 and 2016
• The Hawks are 16-14 all-time in quarterfinals and are seeking their 17th semifinal trip


• March 10, A-10 Semifinals, 1 p.m., CBS Sports Network - TICKETS