Saint Joseph's vice president and director of athletics Don DiJulia received a special achievement award from the Philadelphia Sportswriters Association at the organization's 114th annual Awards Banquet on Monday night at the Crowne Plaza in Cherry Hill. 

DiJulia was presented with the award to recognize his 50th year in college athletics. Earlier this year, DiJulia announced that he will retire from his longtime role as Saint Joseph’s vice president and director of athletics at the end of the current academic year.

The 2017-18 academic year is also his 35th as Saint Joseph’s athletic director over two terms, from 1976-1981 and then from 1988 to the present. In 2012, he was promoted to vice president for athletics/director of athletics. All told, DiJulia’s affiliation with SJU spans six decades, from his time as a student to the present.

Also at the banquet, Saint Joseph's women's basketball player Avery Marz received the PSWA's signature award, the Most Courageous Athlete, which has been presented annually since 1936 to an athlete who exemplifies courage in the face of adversity.

Among others honored that evening were Carson Wentz (Pro Athlete of the Year), the Houston Astros (Team of the Year) Kyle Lowry (Native Son Award), T.J. McConnell (Good Guy), broadcaster Marc Zumoff (Bill Campbell Award), Garry Maddox (Living Legend), Ron Jaworski (special achievement), South Jersey baseball coach Joseph Hartmann (Ed Snider Humanitarian Award) and Philadelphia Daily News columnist Rich Hofmann (Stan Hochman Award).