GILBERT, Ariz. – Fresh off the program’s second Atlantic 10 championship and first NCAA Championship bid, the Saint Joseph’s field hockey team earned its highest-ever ranking on Tuesday as the Hawks were voted 15th in the final Penn Monto/National Field Hockey Coaches Association Coaches Poll of the season.

The Hawks are ranked for the ninth consecutive week.  After breaking into the poll at #23, the Hawks spent four weeks at #21, one at #19, and the previous two at #17.

Winners of nine in a row and 15 of their last 16, the Hawks wrapped up the Atlantic 10 title in thrilling fashion on Saturday as freshman Emily Peters tipped home a ball from junior Anna Willocks with six minutes to go in the second overtime to give the top-seeded Hawks a 3-2 win over second-seeded Massachusetts.  Peters was named the Championship’s Most Outstanding Player and was joined on the All-Championship Team by Willocks and freshmen Quinn Maguire and Jordan Olenginski.

On Thursday, Willocks was named the Atlantic 10 Offensive Player of the Year for the third consecutive season, becoming the first student-athlete in league history to achieve that feat.  Maguire was voted the Rookie of the Year, marking the third consecutive season that a Hawk has won that honor, and sophomore goalkeeper Victoria Kammerinke was named the Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

Head coach Lynn Farquhar was also honored by the league as she earned her second consecutive Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year award.  The Hawks placed five on the All-Conference First Team – Maguire, Kammerinke, Willocks, and sophomores Kathrin Bentz and Pepa Serrano – while junior Joely Helder and freshman Emily Henry were tabbed for the Second Team.  Henry, Maguire, and freshman Nicholl Fenton were named to the All-Rookie Team, while Kammerinke and Willocks also pulled in All-Academic accolades.

Saint Joseph’s will play in its first-ever NCAA Tournament game on Saturday when the Hawks meet #4 North Carolina in Charlottesville, Virginia.  Game time at University Hall Turf Field is set for 11:30 a.m.