Saint Joseph’s men’s basketball will honor one of the most successful teams in program history with the induction of its 1958-59 squad into the SJU Basketball Hall of Fame in conjunction with the team’s 62nd Annual Awards Banquet on Friday, April 7 at Llanerch Country Club in Havertown, Pa.

The members of the current Hawk team will also be honored, including seniors Javon Baumann, Brendan Casper and Hawk mascot Timmy Parks.

Led by Hall of Fame Coach Jack Ramsay, the Hawks finished the season 22-5 overall, won the Middle Atlantic Conference Championship, swept to the Philadelphia Big 5 title, and became the first team in school history to advance to the NCAA Tournament. The 22 victories, along with a 12-game winning streak to conclude the regular season, were the second highest single season marks in program history at the time. The squad also reached the Championship game of the prestigious ECAC Holiday Festival at Madison Square Garden.

Individually, Bob McNeill earned First Team All-Big 5 and Second Team NABC All-District honors, topping the team with averages of 16.4 points and 6.5 assists per game. Team captain Joe Spratt also garnered First Team All-Big 5 recognition and was named the Big 5 Player of the Year after averaging 11.9 points and 8.4 rebounds. The duo was among five Hawks, including Joe Gallo (14.9), Bob Clarke (12.7) and Jack Egan (11.3), who averaged double figures in scoring for the season.

(Team Members: Dave Boyce, Bob Clarke, Al Cooke, Jim Collican, Bob Dickey, Jack Egan, Joe Gallo, John Hoffacker, Vince Kempton, Frank Majewski, Bob McNeill, Joe Reilly, Joe Spratt, Tony Walsh, Paul Westhead)

Tickets for the Men’s Baskteball Banquet are $60 and can be purchased online by visiting  Llanerch Country Club is located at 950 West Chester Pike in Havertown, Pa.  For more information, contact Christina Henderson at 610-660-3280 or