CHANDLER, Ariz. – The National Field Hockey Coaches Association has announced its academic honors for the 2016 season, and the Saint Joseph’s field hockey team featured 12 award winners.  In addition, the Hawks earned the National Academic Team Award as well.

Headlining the group are seniors Melanie Colozzi and Katja Hansen, who earned the honor for the fourth consecutive season.

Joining the pair on the National Academic Squad for the third time is junior Melissa Herd, while sophomores Monica Tice and Anna Willocks were tabbed for the second time.

Seven freshman were named to the squad, as Kathrin Bentz, Courtney Gerber, Victoria Kammerinke, Laura Lasprogata, Doris Offerhaus, Gail Podlesny, and Dana Turner were honored for the first time.

In order to qualify for the National Academic Squad, student-athletes must achieve a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.30.  The National Academic Team Award is bestowed upon teams with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or better during the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year.