Field Hockey Places 11 on NFHCA National Academic Squad
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  03/05/2012

March 5, 2012

CHANDLER, Ariz. - Eleven Saint Joseph's field hockey players were honored by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association for their work in the classroom as part of the 2011 Gladiator/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad. The Hawks were also recipients of the National Academic Team Award.

Earning individual accolades for the fourth consecutive season were seniors Theresa Testa and Rachel Walsh. Fellow senior Therese Doyle earned her first career NFHCA accolade as well.

Juniors Meghan Githens and Abby Hoover were honored for the third consecutive season, while freshmen Lauren Brands, Megan DeMarco, Nicole Gerdes, Jordan Martin, Jessica Rutkowski, and Katie Walsh were also tabbed.

As a team, Saint Joseph's was also honored with the National Academic Team Award. The award is given to programs with a team grade-point average over 3.0. This year, SJU was one of 65 Division I programs to achieve that mark.