PHILADELPHIA – The Saint Joseph’s men’s lacrosse team will open the 2017 season at home against 2016 NCAA Championship runner-up #2/3 Maryland (1-0) on Tuesday, February 14, the first of six home games to be played on Sweeney Field this spring. Opening face-off is slated for 4:00 p.m.

Live streaming of all six regular-season home games will be available free of charge through NEC Front Row. For system requirements and best streaming practices, please visit: NEC Front Row. Live stats will also be provided via

Under the direction of sixth-year head coach Taylor Wray, Saint Joseph’s returns 27 Hawks, including six starters, from a squad that matched a program-best 12 wins and reached the Northeast Conference Championship title game just a year ago, and welcomes 17 newcomers for the 2017 campaign.

After ranking third nationally in both save percentage and goals against average last spring, 2017 Inside Lacrosse Preseason All-American Honorable Mention senior goalkeeper T.J. Jones will backstop the Crimson and Gray, while junior attackman Chris Blewitt is SJU's leading returning scorer with 24 goals and 16 assists a year ago. Senior face-off specialist Mike Lanham went 63.2 percent from the X last year, which ranked eighth nationally.

Tuesday’s game will mark the second all-time meeting between Saint Joseph’s and Maryland, and the first on Sweeney Field. Then ranked seventh in the nation, the Terps came away with an 11-4 win in College Park, Md. on March 20, 2011.

The Hawks' last win over a ranked opponent came on April 5, 2014, when Saint Joseph's defeated then-#12/11 Bryant, 9-7, on Sweeney Field.

Maryland opened its 2017 campaign with a 15-12 win at #11 Navy on Saturday afternoon. Matt Rambo turned in a team-high six points (3g, 3a) for the Terps while Colin Heacock (2g, 3a) and Dylan Maltz (team-high 4g) added to an offense propelled by its attack. Goalkeeper Dan Morris (1-0) made 12 saves in the full 60:00.

The Terps had seven Inside Lacrosse Preseason All-American selections in First Team midfielder Isaiah Davis-Allen, Second Team defenseman Tim Muller, Second Team attackman Rambo, Honorable Mention attackman Heacock, Honorable Mention face-off specialist Austin Henningsen, Honorable Mention midfielder Connor Kelly, and Honorable Mention long stick midfielder Matt Neufeldt. Maryland returns four of its top five scorers from last spring in Rambo (43g), Heacock, Kelly, and Maltz.