Langston Galloway Named Big 5 Rookie of the Year; Carl Jones Named to All-Big 5 Second Team
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  04/13/2011

April 13, 2011

PHILADELPHIA - Saint Joseph's freshman Langston Galloway has been named the Big 5 Rookie of the Year and sophomore Carl Jones has been named to the All-Big 5 Second Team and is the winner of the Palumbo Award as the city's top scorer. Both Hawks will be honored at the Philadelphia Big 5 Banquet on April 25 at Temple's Liacouras Center in the Fox-Gittis Room.

Galloway becomes the first Hawk to receive the Dave Zinkoff Award since Jameer Nelson in 2000-01. The freshman was the Hawks' second leading scorer with 12.8 points and led SJU in three-point field goals made (65) and three-point percentage (39.2). The 6-2 guard from Baton Rouge, La., topped the Atlantic 10 in free throw percentage, hitting 88.7 percent from the line. An Atlantic 10 All-Rookie Team selection, Galloway was the Hawks' top rebounder (5.5) and scored in double figures 20 times while tallying 20 or more points in eight games.

Jones is the first SJU player to earn the Palumbo Award since Pat Carroll did so in 2004-05, scoring a city-high 545 points. He led the Hawks in scoring this season with 17.0 points per game and ranked sixth in the Atlantic 10 Conference. The 5-11 guard from Garfield Heights, Ohio, averaged a team-high 3.4 assists per game and tallied double figures in all but three contests this season, while reaching 20-plus points on 11 occasions.

Jones and Galloway were honored as Saint Joseph's Co-MVPs this season, as they shared the John P. Hilferty Memorial Award.

Lavoy Allen of Temple was voted as the Big 5's Outstanding Player while his coach, Fran Dunphy, was named the Eastern College Coach of the Year and will receive the Harry Litwack Award.

The All-Big 5 First Team consists of Allen and Ramone Moore of Temple; Corey Fisher and Corey Stokes of Villanova; and Zach Rosen of Penn. Joining Jones on the Second Team are Jack Eggleston (Penn); Juan Fernandez (Temple); Aaric Murray (La Salle); and Maalik Wayns (Villanova).

Tickets for the banquet can be reserved by contacting Al Shrier of Temple at 215-651-1821 or via email at: