Men's Basketball Season Celebrated at 50th Annual Awards Banquet
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  04/16/2005

April 16, 2005

DREXEL HILL, PA - Pat Carroll (Horsham, PA) and Dwayne Jones (Chester, PA) were named co-recipients of the John P. Hilferty Memorial Award, given to the Most Valuable Player of the Saint Joseph's basketball team at the 50th annual Men's Basketball Awards Banquet held at Drexelbrook Catering this evening. Aside from individual achievements, the evening also celebrated the accomplishments of the 2004-05 Hawks' team that won its fifth consecutive Atlantic 10 regular-season crown and advanced to the final of the NIT, while posting a 24-12 record.

Junior point guard Dwayne Lee (Jersey City, NJ) received the Robert F. O'Neill Award as the team's Most Improved Player. Senior co-captain John Bryant (Woodbridge, VA) earned the William F. Maher Memorial Award given to the player who most exhibits loyalty.

Junior Rob Sullivan (Philadelphia, PA) was honored as the Hawk showing the most spirit with the Daniel J. Cummings, Jr. Memorial Award. Dave Mallon (East Aurora, NY), a junior forward, received the George Senesky Memorial Academic Award for outstanding academic achievement. Senior manager Chris Napoli (Cedar Grove, NJ) earned the Patrick D. O'Pake Memorial Award as the team's "unsung hero".

Carroll was the Atlantic 10 Co-Player of the Year and an Associated Press Honorable Mention All-America after leading the Hawks in scoring with 18.3 points per game. He was named to the All-District Teams by both the USBWA and the NABC, and was the Most Outstanding Player of the Atlantic 10 Championship. He was also chosen as the Outstanding Player in the Philadelphia Big 5.

Carroll ended his career as one of SJU's finest perimeter shooters while putting together his best season in a Hawk uniform. He owns the school records for career 3-point field goals (294), 3-point percentage (44.5) and 3-point attempts (661), while setting the single-season marks this year for 3-pointers (135) and attempts (311). The 6-5 forward tallied 1,324 points in his career, ranking him 22nd on the SJU all-time list.

Jones became the first Hawk since 1995-96 to average a double-double with 10.1 points and a team-high 11.6 rebounds and was the 27th player in Atlantic 10 history to achieve the feat. He ranked fifth in the nation in rebounding and also fifth in blocked shots with his average of 3.0.

Jones was named the 2005 Atlantic 10 Defensive Player of the Year, while earning All-Conference Second Team honors. The junior was also named to the Atlantic 10 All-Championship Team and the NIT All-Tournament Team. He set Saint Joseph's postseason records for career rebounds (105) and blocks (33).

Lee took over as the Hawks' starting point guard from last year's National Player of the Year Jameer Nelson. The junior put up career-best numbers with 9.4 points and 5.2 assists per game, while leading the Atlantic 10 in assists and ranking second in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.0). Lee scored in double figures in 17 games, while averaging the most minutes on the team - 36.1.

Bryant missed six games with a fractured arm, but was the emotional leader of the Hawks. Relegated to a reserve role in the seventh game of the year, Bryant was the consummate team player. After sitting out three weeks with the injury suffered in the Temple game, the senior made his return to the court for the Hawks' NIT opener against Hofstra. He played in all six NIT games, helping Saint Joseph's to a berth in the championship game.

Sullivan earned a spot on the squad as a walk-on last year and saw limited action in eight games this season.

Mallon moved into the starting lineup and started 27 games for the Hawks. He hit for a career-high 17 points in the Hawks' Atlantic 10 quarterfinal win over Richmond, going a perfect 6-for-6 from the field and 3-for-3 from the foul line. He is a marketing major.

Other awards given to non-players were assistant coaches Monte Ross and Mark Bass receiving the Bennett Award for dedication and service; SJU student Tom Rafferty receiving the Ross Sixth Man Award; and former managers Dave and T.J. Voelle earning the Conway Award for giving back to the University.