Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  09/01/2004
PHILADELPHIA (5/14/03) - Saint Joseph's University third baseman Mike Walls has been named to the Atlantic 10 Baseball All-Conference first team in a voting conducted by the league's coaches. A senior from Hockessein, Del., Walls led the Hawks with a .340 batting average and 27 RBI. He also served as the team's closer, recording three saves. Walls topped the team in triples, ranked second in doubles and third in home runs. His .356 career average is the fifth highest in program history. He joins Kevin Kirkby (2000, 2001) as just the second Hawk to receive first team all-league honors since 1995. Richmond first baseman Jim Fasano and teammate Tim Stauffer were named Atlantic 10 Player and Pitcher of the Year, respectively, while George Washington shortstop Tom Shanley was chosen as Rookie of the Year, and Rhode Island's Frank Leoni was named Coach of the Year. Joining Walls, Fasano and Stauffer on the All-Conference first-team were Richmond's David Reaver, Vito Chiaravalloti, and Mike McGirr; Travis Crowder and Ryan Roberson of George Washington; Mark Andres of Xavier; Duquesne's Chad Williams; Brian Oakes of La Salle; and Scott Ratliff of Massachusetts. The second-team is comprised of Shanley, as well as Dan Batz and Jared Trout Rhode Island; Xavier's Eric Greenwell, Jay Johnson, and Adam Jahnsen; John Rieg of Duquesne; Bryan Pritz, Ben Zeskind, and John Cronin of Richmond; Temple's John Quigley; Jeremy Bourgeois of Fordham; and Massachusetts' Eric Chown.