Ahmad Nivins Receives the Geasey Award as the Big 5 Player of the Year
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  04/08/2009

April 13, 2009

PENNSAUKEN, N.J. - Saint Joseph's senior Ahmad Nivins received the Robert Geasey Award as the Most Outstanding Player in the Philadelphia Big 5, at the annual Herb Good Basketball Club Dinner on Monday, April 13, at The Savoy.

It marks the second year in a row that Saint Joseph's had the Geasey winner as Pat Calathes was the co-recipient in 2007-08. It marks the 13th time in history that a Saint Joseph's has earned the award, joining the likes of former SJU greats Pat Carroll (2005), Jameer Nelson (2004, 2003), Marvin O'Connor (2001) and Rashid Bey (1997, 1996). Rounding out the list of Hawks to win the Geasey Award were Jeffery Clark (1982), Cliff Anderson (1967), Steve Courtin (1964), Jim Lynam (1963) and Joe Spratt (1959).

Nivins had previously won the Player of the Year Award in the Atlantic 10 after putting together one of the top statistical seasons for a Hawk player.

Nivins topped the team with 19.2 points and 11.7 rebounds, to become the first Hawk since Dwayne Jones in 2005-06 to average a double-double. He shot 61.7 percent from the field, the best number in the Atlantic 10, and became just the second player in history to lead the league in that category for three consecutive years.

The 6-9 senior shot 78.7 percent from the foul line while making more free throws (200) than any player in the A-10 attempted.

Saint Joseph's senior Tasheed Carr is an All-Big 5 Second Team selection. The 6-4 guard was second on the team in scoring with a 14.8 average, while shooting a team-best 40.8 percent from 3-point range.

Joining Nivins on the first team were Dionte Christmas (Temple), Dante Cunningham (Villanova), Rodney Green (La Salle)and Scottie Reynolds (Villanova).

The second team consisted of Carr, Lavoy Allen (Temple), Dwayne Anderson (Villanova), Ryan Brooks (Temple), Corey Fisher (Villanova) and Reggie Redding (Villanova).