Men's Basketball Conference Matchups Announced for 2009-10
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  07/30/2009

July 30, 2009

PHILADELPHIA - The Atlantic 10 has announced the league opponents and game sites for its men's basketball teams for the 2009-10 regular season. In the 16-game conference schedule, Saint Joseph's will play each opponent and face three teams twice.

Saint Joseph's will face UMass, St. Bonaventure and local rival Temple in both home and away contests. The Hawks will host Dayton, Fordham, Richmond and Saint Louis at the new Michael J. Hagan '85 Arena, and will host La Salle at The Palestra. SJU will go on the road to take on Charlotte, Duquesne, George Washington, Rhode Island and Xavier.

The top 12 teams in the standings at the conclusion of the regular season will advance to the 2010 Men's Basketball Championship.

The first round games of the Atlantic 10 Championship will be hosted on the campuses of teams seeded #5, #6, #7, and #8 on Tuesday, Mar. 9, 2010. The top four seeded teams (#1-#4) will again receive a bye into the quarterfinal round, scheduled for Friday, Mar. 12 at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J. Semifinal action will take place on Saturday, Mar. 13, with the Championship game held on Sunday, Mar. 14, and televised nationally at 1:00 p.m. on CBS Sports for the first time in A-10 history.

Fans can reserve all-session tickets for the 2010 Championship by calling Boardwalk Hall at (609) 348-7021.

In 2008-09, Dayton, Temple, and Xavier advanced to the NCAA Tournament, while Duquesne and Rhode Island earned NIT berths and Richmond reached the semifinals of the CBI. The A-10 is the only non-BCS conference to have three teams advance to the NCAA Tournament in each of the past two seasons.

The complete 2009-10 Conference schedule with dates and times will be announced at a later date.

2009-10 Atlantic 10 Conference Matchups