Calathes Named Hawks' MVP at Awards Banquet
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  04/21/2008

April 21, 2008


PHILADELPHIA - Senior Pat Calathes was presented with the John P. Hilferty Memorial Award, given to the Most Valuable Player of the Saint Joseph's basketball team at the 53nd annual SJU Men's Basketball Awards Banquet held at the Philadelphia Hilton.

Calathes led the Hawks in scoring and rebounding this season with 17.5 points and 7.5 rebounds. He earned Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team honors and was named the Big 5 Co-Player of the Year.

Marvin O'Connor, who starred for the Hawks from 1999 to 2002, was inducted into the SJU Basketball Hall of Fame. O'Connor, who averaged double figures in all three of his seasons with the Hawks, was the Player of the Year in both the Atlantic 10 and Big 5 in 2001, as he averaged 22.1 points per game.

Sophomore Garrett Williamson earned the Robert F. O'Neill Award as the team's Most Improved Player while junior Edwin Lashley received the George Senesky Memorial Academic Award for outstanding academic achievement. Seniors Rob Ferguson and Arvydas Lidzius both received the William F. Maher Memorial Award for loyalty.

Jim Miller, the Hawk mascot for the past two years, earned the Daniel J. Cummins, Jr. Memorial Award for spirit. The Patrick D. O'Pake Memorial Award for the team's "Unsung Hero" was awarded to senior manager Brett Sullivan and student assistant Ryan Whalen. SJU's Special Events Manager Beth Moran was the recipient of the William J. Bennett Memorial Award, recognizing dedication and service to SJU basketball. The Michael J. Conway Memorial Award for a person who has given back to the University was presented to longtime supporter and former Hawk mascot Al Pastino.

The Emory Ross Sixth Man Award was presented to a group of Saint Joseph's students - Kenneth Glenn, Stephen Riccio, Nick Lomba, Tim Hurley, Mike McBride, Pat Carney, Chris Zytko, and Andrew Celluci- recognizing their support.