Ahmad Nivins Named to Naismith Trophy Preseason List
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  10/26/2007

Oct. 26, 2007

ATLANTA, GA - Saint Joseph's junior Ahmad Nivins has been named to the Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List, as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. Nivins is one of 33 players to be recognized on this list.

Nivins, a 6-9 junior forward from Jersey City, N.J., is the Hawks' leading returning scorer and rebounder with 16.6 points and 7.7 boards last season. An Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team selection in 2007-08, Nivins was chosen to the 2007-08 A-10 Presason All-Conference First Team.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2007-08 season. Seniors and juniors accounted for 17 apiece, along with 16 sophomores. The list does not include incoming freshmen, although those student-athletes will be considered in the first vote in January, 2008. The Naismith Trophy is presented annually to college basketball's players of the year.

Among the other players named to the list are Wayne Ellington of North Carolina; Gerald Henderson of Duke; Roy Hibbert of Georgetown; and Scottie Reynolds of Villanova. Atlantic 10 players on the list are Drew Lavender of Xavier and Will Daniels of Rhode Island.

AT&T will continue to set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25% of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

In January, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its preseason list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March. Beginning in mid-February, CBS' "AT&T at the Half" will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention. In April, the Naismith Trophy winner will be recognized at the NCAA Men's Final Four in San Antonio.