Men's Basketball Conference Opponents Announced for 2010-11 Season
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  05/21/2010

May 21, 2010


The Atlantic 10 Conference has announced the league opponents and game sites for its men's basketball teams for the 2010-11 regular season. In the 16-game conference schedule, Saint Joseph's will play every team and face three opponents twice. The matchups were announced after the A-10's annual meetings concluded this week in Williamsburg, Va.

The Hawks will play UMass, Richmond and local rival Temple in both home and away contests. SJU will host Duquesne, George Washington, Rhode Island, St. Bonaventure and Xavier, in addition to those previously mentioned three teams. Saint Joseph's will go on the road to face Charlotte, Dayton, Fordham, La Salle and Saint Louis, as well as UMass, Richmond and Temple.

The Conference also announced that the format for the 2011 Men's Basketball Championship (Mar. 8-13) will remain the same as this past year. The top 12 teams at the conclusion of the regular season will advance to the 2011 Championship, with the top four seeds earning byes. First round contests will be played on the campuses of teams seeded fifth-thru-eighth. The setting for the Championship then shifts to Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J.

The finals of the 35th annual Men's Basketball Championship will be held on Sunday, Mar. 13, and televised live at 1 p.m. on network CBS for the second consecutive year. Fans can reserve all-session tickets for the 2011 Championship by calling Boardwalk Hall at (609) 348-7021.

The complete 2010-11 Conference schedule with dates and times will be announced at a later date.