Ahmad Nivins Named Hawks' MVP at Awards Banquet
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  04/17/2009

April 17, 2009

Photo Gallery

SPRINGFIELD, PA. - Senior Ahmad Nivins was presented with the John P. Hilferty Memorial Award, given to the Most Valuable Player of the Saint Joseph's basketball team at the 54th annual SJU Men's Basketball Awards Banquet held at Drexelbrook Catering. It marks the second time that he's won the award, with 2007 being the previous honor.

Nivins capped off an outstanding career by leading the team with 19.2 points and 11.7 rebounds, while earning Player of the Year honors from both the Atlantic 10 Conference and the Philadelphia Big 5. He was an Associated Press Honorable Mention All-America selection and finished his career ranked third all-time in scoring (1,789) and sixth in rebounding (955). Nivins set the school record for career field goal percentage with 62.7 percent.

Junior C.J. Brown and sophomore Idris Hillard were co-recipients of the Robert F. O'Neill Award as the team's Most Improved while junior Garrett Williamson received the George Senesky Memorial Academic Award for outstanding academic achievement. Senior Tasheed Carr and manager Lance Barron each received the Daniel J. Cummins, Jr. Award for spirit. Senior Edwin Lashley was the recipient of the William F. Maher Memorial Award for loyalty.

The Patrick D. O'Pake Memorial Award for the team's Unsung Hero was awarded to managers Dan DeCarlo and Ben Wisniewski. The William J. Bennett Memorial Award, recognizing dedication and service to SJU basketball, was given to manager Michael Kehoe, Hawk mascot Tim Klarich, as well as Peggy Kowalski and the Penn Athletics Staff.

The Emory Ross Sixth Man Award was presented to Saint Joseph's students Alex Bretschneider and Shannon Patterson to recognize their support.