Saint Joseph's Men's Basketball Picked to Finish Third in Atlantic 10
Courtesy: SJU Athletic Communications  
Release:  10/25/2007

Oct. 25, 2007

ATLANTIC CITY, NJ - Saint Joseph's was picked to finish third in the Atlantic 10 men's basketball race, according to a poll of the conference's head coaches and media released at today's Media Day at Boardwalk Hall, the site of the 2008 A-10 Championship.

SJU's Ahmad Nivins and Pat Calathes were each named to the Preseason All-Conference Teams, with Nivins earning mention to the first team and Calathes being voted onto the third team.

Atlantic 10 Preseason All-Conference Teams

For the second straight year, Xavier was tabbed as the favorite to capture the conference title. The Musketeers received 42 of the 59 first-place votes cast by the panel of coaches and media members. Xavier (25-9/13-3) returns three starters from last year's team which shared the regular season title with Massachusetts and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Rhode Island garnered five first-place votes and placed second in the preseason poll. The Hawks, coming off an 18-14 record in 2006-07, received seven first-place votes, the second highest total in the voting. Saint Joseph's returns four starters, led by Nivins, who topped the Conference in field goal percentage (.631) last season.

Fordham (18-12/10-6) earned a pair of first-place votes and was chosen fourth. Saint Louis (20-13/8-8), under first-year head coach Rick Majerus, was selected fifth in the poll, while Dayton (19-12/8-8) garnered a pair of first-place votes and was tabbed for seventh. Defending A-10 champion George Washington (23-9/11-5) was picked seventh, while 2007 regular season co-champion Massachusetts (24-9/13-3) received a first-place vote and was selected eighth. Temple (12-18/6-10), Charlotte (14-16/7-9), Duquesne (10-19/6-10), Richmond (8-22/4-12), La Salle (10-20/3-13) and St. Bonaventure (7-22/4-12) round out the voting, in that order.

Joining Nivins on the All-Conference First Team are Will Daniels of Rhode Island, Drew Lavender of Xavier, Fordham's Bryant Dunston and Brian Roberts of Dayton. The second team consists of Xavier's Stanley Burrell, Temple's Dionte Christmas, Maureece Rice of George Washington and teammates Tommie Liddell and Kevin Lisch of Saint Louis. Calathes is on the third team along with Massachusetts' Gary Forbes, Leemire Goldwire of Charlotte, Fordham's Marcus Stout and Temple's Mark Tyndale.

The preseason All-Defensive team consists of Lisch, Dunston, Stout and teammates Kieron Achara and Shawn James of Duquesne. The All-Rookie team is comprised of George Washington's Xavier Alexander, Lavoy Allen of Temple, Dante' Jackson of Xavier, Charlotte's Phil Jones and Chris Wright of Dayton.